Welcome To My World

Smokeless in Tokyo

I have decided to stop smoking, again. For the umpteenth time. The last time was about six months back. It lasted about a month. But the temptation became too much – especially after a good meal and with a wife like mine who is such a good cook that every meal is a class in itself, the temptation to prolong the enjoyment with a few after-meal puffs was just too much.

But the world is becoming increasingly smaller and smaller for confirmed smokaholics like me. With everyone, including the Government, doing their best to stop or at least restrict us, I figured I might as well give in, surrender to the inevitable, make my family happy, use the money saved for more useful things, live a more healthy life, etc.

So, this morning I smoked my last one. As I stubbed it out, I melo-dramatically thought of keeping the stub as a kind of souvenir – a reminder of when I used to smoke 🙂 It’s still there, across the table, in the ashtray which I will no longer need, hopefully. 

Comments on: "Smokeless in Tokyo" (9)

  1. Congratulations and good luck. I don’t suppose many Japs smoke anyway. And good to have you blogging again, with a brand new template too. That was one mighty long hiatus you took.

  2. ruolngulworld said:

    Thanks, J. I’ve ‘stopped’ smoking so many times that this time, apart from this post, I’ve not told anyone 🙂 I hope to really stop but, who knows? Hopes and dreams and reality may not always meet but one can always hope and dream 😉
    Japs, btw, are great smokers with more than 50% smokers among men till not very long ago. With so many restrictions in place, the number has been declining but the die-hard smokers remain. And they are REAL smokers. People lighting up one cigarette after another during their smoking breaks in their designated smoking areas (because you cannot legally smoke in any other area) are a common sight. Since they really work and take their breaks only once or twice a day, they make up for it by lighting up at least 3 to 4 cigarettes one after the other. Its a wonder they don’t collapse!
    In such wonderful company, it really going to be hard not to light up again. In fact, I wouldn’t really bet on myself 🙂

  3. LH Hranchal said:

    Japan is a smokers paradise, they said. Some countries had laws already limiting smoking by putting up a No smoking sign in hotels, restaurants and bars. Its free zone in Japan. It will be the biggest, toughest challenge for the japs introducing the new rules to them.

    Recent report from WHO, however indicates that people living in Japan can expect to remain in good health longer than anybody else in the world!! So keep smoking . I’ll use pipe he he he.

    Dam chur chur maw?

    lhra

  4. I really should take inspiration from you as I have been planning to quit for a long time. Especially now that there is a Nation wide ban here in India, it should hopefully help me quit even more. I envy you!

  5. ruolngulworld said:

    Thanks, guys. This was, frankly, a spur-of-the-moment kind of thing. I was there, smoking the last cigarette from my last pack, and I thought, why not? Four days later (seems like ages), am still smokeless………..

  6. Glaze the ashtray and stub before the nicotine depleted crave re-surges. Heck, glaze the table too! Having kicked my puff, I am now even allergic to passive smoking. So yeah, I’m rooting for you.

  7. Lighting my first cigarette was one of the things I regret most in my life! I can’t seem to quit now, I’ve tried a lot of times but I guess I’ve never been serious about it, I’ve never held out as long as a month even once. But I’m glad that the government is coming up with all these rules, at least I get to smoke less that way.

  8. ruolngulworld said:

    Philo, thank you, for rooting for me. Hope I can someday say I’ve finally kicked my puff too.
    Jerusha, thanks for sharing. I too have tried a number of times to quit. My longest period without a puff was about a year while the others ranged from less than a week to a month or two. But, unlike you, despite my quitting and whatever anyone says, I must admit that the satisfaction and feeling of contentment of that puff after a good meal or a few drinks is just too good to regret my first puff! Maybe, there lies the reason for my never having been able to really quit. 🙂

  9. Congratulations. I’m not really a heavy smoker, but it seems to be getting harder and harder to give it up. Something akin to panic grips me when I realize that I have just one cig left in the pack. I honestly don’t know why I enjoy it so much, given that I can hardly stand to be near a smoker unless I’m puffing away myself. Hmm… I must quit. I must quit. Wonder if these mantras would help… :p

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

